The Keith Hernandez Trade & Me

The Inside Story of How a New York Mets Fan’s Magazine Launch in 1983 Led to the Acquisition of the Franchise-Changing Player

Stephen Hanks
9 min readDec 28, 2020

Note: This piece was first published on the website MetsMerized Online in 2009.

It all began in the fall of 1982, just after my 27th birthday. Since my early teenage years, I had dreamed of starting my own magazine about professional sports in New York. I remembered a short-lived magazine called “JOCK NEW YORK,” which published for one year in 1969, long enough to celebrate the Miracle Mets on its cover. It boasted writers like Dick Schaap and Jimmy Breslin. Even the legendary sports broadcaster Howard Cosell penned pieces for JOCK.

At 14, I was already a magazine fanatic and when JOCK folded, I remember saying to myself, “I’m going to publish a magazine like this one day — only better.” After starting my career at the late, great SPORT Magazine (1978–80), and then spending a year editing a magazine for the National Hockey League, I felt it was time to make the leap and start NEW YORK SPORTS Magazine.

With my wife Bea as the publisher and business mind, we decided we would launch our bi-monthly magazine with a May/June issue in April 1983. That would give us about four months to raise some money, find a…

--

--

Stephen Hanks

Award-Winning Magazine Editor/Writer is a Patriotic and Passionate Progressive Pontificating on Politics, Media, Sports, Music, and Social Issues.